Midwest Astrochemistry Meeting 2008

The inaugural meeting of the Midwest Astrochemistry Consortium will be held on the campus of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign on 7-8 November, 2008. The meeting will consist of a poster session on Friday night and a partial day of talks on Saturday that will adjourn by mid-afternoon. The lunch hour on Saturday will be used to brainstorm objectives for the consortium to pursue during the coming year.

The Midwest Astrochemistry Consortium seeks to foster communication and collaboration between the astrochemists in the region, a diverse interdisciplinary group of astronomers, experimentalists, and theorists who contribute to tackling the wide spectrum of astrochemical problems. Developing and mentoring the next generation of astrochemists, providing a support network for early career astrochemists, and promoting awareness of the field are also priorities of the consortium.

We have worked to keep costs as minimal as possible, in part to encourage graduate student attendance and participation. We expect that most of those who attend will be able to limit their stay in Champaign-Urbana to one night.

REGISTRATION: Registration will be done through regular mail using the form that can be downloaded below. The fee is $20 per person if remitted by October 31 ($30 thereafter). It includes dinner on Friday evening (pizza), as well as break snacks and a box lunch on Saturday. The costs of the meeting are being partially defrayed by the National Science Foundation through a CAREER grant to Prof. Ben McCall.


NOTE: Multiple registrations can be sent together and covered with a single check. The mailing address is

    MWAM08 registration
    c/o Beth Myler, Box 60-6
    Department of Chemistry
    University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
    600 S. Mathews Ave.
    Urbana, IL 61801

ABSTRACTS: The abstract deadline is October 17. Each abstract should fit on a single 8-1/2" x 11" page. Provide a title, author list with the presenting author underlined, author affiliations, an email address for the presenting author, and the abstract. Use at least 1" margins on all sides. Figures and other supplemental material are encouraged, as long as everything fits on one page within the specified margins. No color, please.

Abstracts should be emailed to mwam08@gmail.com. The subject line should be either MWAM08 abstract: PREFER TALK or MWAM08 abstract: PREFER POSTER. Abstracts must be in pdf format. The number of slots for talks is limited, but we encourage graduate students to consider presenting a talk instead of a poster. Presenters will be notified whether they will be given a poster or talk about two weeks before the meeting convenes.

TRAVEL: In addition to driving, the University can be reached by train or plane service, mostly through Chicago. Campus maps will be provided below.

(last updated 24 Oct 2008)

ACCOMODATIONS: Blocks of rooms have been set aside at the following hotels.

Country Inn & Suites
602 West Marketview Dr
Champaign, IL USA 61822
PHONE: 217-355-6666
$129.99 per night (King suite)
Block Name: Astrochemical Meeting

Courtyard by Marriott
1811 Moreland Blvd
Champaign, IL USA 61820
$119 per night (Queen suite)
Block Name: U of I Astrochemistry Meeting

Holiday Inn
1001 Killarney St.
Urbana, IL USA 61801
PHONE: 217-328-7900
$95.00 per night
Block Name: UI Chemistry Department

NOTE: These rates are only applicable through October 7. Please mention the block name listed above when making reservations to get the quoted rate. A variety of other accommodations are also available in Champaign-Urbana. They can be located via the internet.


Ted Bergin (University of Michigan)
Gary Ferland (University of Kentucky)
Erika Gibb (University of Missouri - St. Louis)
Eric Herbst (Ohio State University)
Ben McCall (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)
David Woon (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)


Beth Myler (Administrative Support)
Brian Brumfield (Graduuate Student Representative)
Leslie Looney (Astronomy Department)
Ben McCall (Chemistry & Astronomy Departments)
David Woon (Chemistry Department)

Updated 31 March 2009